Library: Starting Your Research: 3. Search for Information

Library Home

Using Search Terms: Brainstorming for Success!

Click the image to learn more about brainstorming search terms for your research:

Improve your Search!

Search Tips & Tricks Learn about using Boolean searching, quotation marks and truncation/wildcards for database and Internet searching.
Choosing your topic IS research (Video) When you pick your topic, it's not set in stone. Picking and adjusting your topic is an integral part of the research process!
How do I select keywords for my search?
Parts of a Scholarly Article (Video) Articles come in many varieties, but this video provides a few examples to refer to when determining the differences between scholarly and popular articles.

Peer Reviewed Articles: What Are They? Tips for determining what a peer reviewed article is and how to find them in the library databases.

Quick Library Links

Library Tutorials Self-guided learning at your convenience. Video, audio, and text instruction on many topics such as evaluating information, advanced Internet searching, and tips and tricks for using many of the Library’s research databases.
Research Databases See a full list of the Library's research databases containing scholarly journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, images, videos, magazines, reports and other resources that are not freely available online.
Library Catalog Search the library's catalog for a specific item.
Avoiding Plagiarism A guide full of resources to help you recognize and avoid plagiarism.
Tools for Organizing your Research A collection of tools that will help you organize your sources.

Search for Information

Once you’ve found some background information, you're ready to search for research articles and other sources on your topic. There are three main ways to begin searching in the Library:

OneSearch: Search most of our databases at once This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Research Guides See which databases are recommended for your specific subject area as well as links to vetted websites, ebooks and more.
Research Databases See a full list of the Library's research databases containing scholarly journal articles, eBooks, newspapers, images, videos, magazines, reports and other resources that are not freely available online.

Start by trying OneSearch below, and scroll down to see common search tips and tricks!

Search Tools

OneSearch

Find articles, eBooks, etc.

Note: This tool searches cover titles only, it does not search for article titles or within the text.

Using Google Scholar: Finding Peer Reviewed Resources (Transcript)

Search Tips (Transcript)